Faculty and Staff

Current faculty

Angele Anderfuren
Electronic Media & Film, Journalism

Marie Baker-Ohler
Communication Studies

Laura Camden

Rodrigo De Toledo
Visual Arts, Intermedia Arts and Design

Amy Dryden
Strategic Communication

Rory Faust

Daniel Foster
Cultural and Media Studies, Documentary, American Culture

Peter Friederici
Faculty Adviser for The Lumberjack
Science Writing, Environmental Journalism

John Gialanella
Visual Communication

Dayle C. Hardy-Short
Environmental Rhetoric, Gender Studies

Paul Helford
Faculty Adviser for UTV62
Screenwriting, Film Studies

John Hessinger
Instructor of Photography, Photojournalism & Strategic Communication

Amy Horn

Dale Hoskins
Electronic Media, Broadcasting`

Chris S. Johnson
Visual Communication, Computer Art

Janna Jones
Electronic Media and Film: Media Studies

Charlotte Klesman
Communication Theory, Journalism, Screenwriting

Kurt Lancaster
Digital Communication, New Media, Digital Filmmaking

Richard Lei  

Carly Long
Communication Studies, Distance Learning

Jerome Mahaffey
Organizational Communication, American Public Address

Annette McGivney
Journalism, Environmental Communication

Norman J. Medoff
Director of School of Communication
Faculty Adviser for KJACK Radio
Professor and Director of Electronic Media and Film
Internship Coordinator

Kimberly Melhus Mitchell
Faculty Adviser for AIGA
Visual Communication, Graphic Design, Gerontology

Sam A. Minkler

Patricia Murphey
Director of the Visual Design Lab Visual Communication, Graphic Design

Brandon Neuman
Faculty Adviser for NAZ Today
Electronic Media Production

Mark Neumann
Cultural & Media Studies, Documentary, Visual Culture

Richard A. Rogers
Director of Graduate Studies
Intercultural Communication, Cultural Studies

Julie Kalil Schutten
Coordinator for Introduction to Public Speaking
Communication Studies

Brant Short
Environmental Rhetoric, Political Communication

Simon Sinaga

Martin D. Sommerness
Journalism, Mass Communication Law and Ethics

Kristen Swanson
Merchandise Promotion, Tourism Retailing

Jerry Thull
Faculty Adviser for PRSSA
Public Relations, Advertising

Mary Tolan

Jon Leon Torn
Electronic Media and Film

Laura R. Umphrey
Health Communication, Persuasion

Faculty emeriti

Eugene W. Balzer
Professor Emeritus of Photography

Chris Everett
Professor Emeritus of Photography

Judith C. Everett
Professor Emeritus of Merchandising

Tom Knights
Professor Emeritus of Visual Communication

Lea Jane Parker
Professor Emeritus of Journalism

Richard A. “Tony” Parker
Professor Emeritus of Speech Communication

Marsha Yowell
Communication Studies


Vickie Campbell
Accountant, Associate

Russ Gilbert
Photo Lab Coordinator

Patricia Johnson
Administrative Associate

Mike MacPhee
Support Systems Analyst