Student Nurses’ Association


The National Student Nurses’ Association has a nationwide membership of over 60,000 student nurses and is dedicated to fostering the professional development of nursing students. It offers educational resources, leadership opportunities and career guidance.

The Student Nurses' Association (SNA) of Northern Arizona University is a student organization composed of all university pre-nursing and nursing students and is governed by an executive board under the supervision of a faculty adviser.

With the goal of providing the highest quality health care, SNA is dedicated to the enhancement of: Professionalism

  • Leadership
  • Nursing education
  • Kaplan exam preparation
  • Peer mentoring

In addition, SNA:

  • Encourages participation in health-care related community and volunteer affairs
  • Promotes recruitment efforts
  • Promotes and encourages collaborative relationships with nursing and related health organizations
  • Seeks to influence health care, nursing education, and practice through legislative activities
  • Promotes the education about the different fields of nursing by bringing in nurses, hiring managers for hospitals and nurse educators from a variety of specialties


 The SNA meetings are determined each semester in Nursing Room 124. 

Spring 2017
February 6th
March 6th
April 3rd
All meetings will be from 5:30-7pm and food will be served!


Click here to view SNA bylaws.


  • Kaplan Study sessions 
  • Mentor/mentee with fellow nursing students
  • Relay for life
  • Volunteer work in the flagstaff area


We have a membership fee of $40 that covers you for the entirety of your college career. Graduating soon? We also do $10 a semester up until the $40 limit is reached. The membership provides access to the mentor/mentee program, Kaplan study sessions, exam preparation tips and strategies, graduation cord, food at the meetings as well as an SNA "We call the shots" crew shirt in navy or white!

SNA Officers

Advisor: Sharon Thompsom
Presidents: Rachel Gassdorf and Taylor Stennerson
Vice President: Madeline Hetherington
Treasurer: Paige Porteck
Clothing Chair: Riley Cook
Mentor/Mentee Program Chair: Taryn Detsoi
Events Coordinator: Katie Jones
Secretary: Grace Kretschmar


2013 2012 2011 2010