The NAU Alumni Association Board Mission and Vision

2017 NAUAA Board of Directors

Join Us

A Board member's role includes working closely with the Office of Alumni Engagement as a strategic partner to increase the level of alumni engagement. Board members contribute to defining the organization’s priorities and goals, along with governing and actively participating in the fulfillment of the mission and vision of NAU.

If you’re a Northern Arizona University alumnus or alumna, and you have a desire to be actively involved, we encourage you to apply for a position on our board. Nominations and applications are accepted throughout the year. For more information about becoming a board member, send us an email.

*Please note that opportunities on the NAU Alumni Board of Directors are limited and are based on the diverse needs of the board at any given time. Applications are reviewed annually. Refer to the deadline noted on the application. 

Strategic Plan

In January 2017, the NAU Alumni Association Board of Directors adopted a strategic plan that will serve as the guiding principles to help develop and grow meaningful alumni engagement at NAU. The four strategic priorities include:
  1. Support Northern Arizona University in All Ways
  2. Connect Alumni with Northern Arizona University and Each Other
  3. Support a Strong Alumni Association
  4. Cultivate Students and Young Alumni to Serve Northern Arizona University 

Your Board

The 19 voting members of the Board of Directors support and direct the efforts of the Northern Arizona University Alumni Association, which represents a base of more than 160,000 alumni.

The board convenes on a quarterly basis. Board committees meet regularly via conference calls to formulate and execute plans, policies, and programs, and to provide input to the Office of Alumni Engagement director.


Marissa Graves, '09 (Finance and Accountancy) President
Heidi Hansen, '91 (Communication) Vice President
Colleen Belford, '06 (Marketing and Accountancy) Secretary/Parliamentarian
Chris Petroff, '03 (Management) Immediate Past President


Josh Aldred, '03 (Civil Engineering)
Ben Allen, '03 (Finance) Fundraising Chair
C.J. Fay, '02 (Electronic Media)
Debbie Grogan, '90 (Political Science)
Stephanie Hastings, '96 (Hotel and Restaurant Management) 
Carol Lindsay, '61 (English)
Carmelle Malkovich, '03 (Public Relations and Advertising)
Joe Mead, '83 (Telecommunications)
Bill Nyman, '70 (Marketing)
Bob Orrill, '80 (Marketing) Traditions Chair
Steve Pallack, '82 (Arts and Sciences) Nominations Chair
DeeAnn Palin, '93 (Communication) NAU Foundation Board Chair
Katie Patten, '09 (Marketing) Alumni Outreach Chair
Janet SweigART, '83 (Interior Design)


Alumni Chapters & Affinity Groups
Alumni Outreach & Volunteerism
Executive Committee
Governance & Nominations
Marketing & Communications
Traditions & Alumni Recognition