Student Awards and Accomplishments

Student & Alumni Success

Congratulations to CCJ 2014 graduates Ashley Garcia, Tia Baldocchi, Amber Diagostine and Lesly Rodriguez!
The University of Texas-Austin has accepted for presentation at their 2014 Conflict Resolution Conference, a paper written by Ashley Garcia, Tia Baldocchi, Amber Diagostine and Lesly Rodriquez. The paper, "Why Universities Need Student Ombudsmen: A Student's Perspective," was researched and written to fulfill their Spring 2014 senior capstone project.  
To fulfill the requirements for their senior capstone project, Ky Anderson, Joseph Behringer, Devin Holden, Dakota Johnson, Amanda Sanders and April White pictured above created a website to provide incoming freshman with tips and resources for handling their interpersonal disputes.  Feedback for the website has exceeded expectations.  One parent wrote: "As a parent of an incoming student, it's nice to know there are resources available to help your child through a new and sometimes scary process.  Good information." Check it out!

To fulfill their senior capstone requirements, Jordan Burns, Ashley Alabado, Andrea Deflinger, AnaMaria Garduno, Jordyn Hoffman and Carly Rios taught swim club members ages 8-18 how to use a Restorative Justice Circle and how to handle interpersonal conflicts.  Not only did the team members enjoy it, but their coaches look forward to implementing the Restorative Circles for resolving team conflict.  

Congratulations to Jennifer Willson!  After graduating from the Master's of Applied Criminology in May 2012, she will begin her career with the Navy as a Cryptology-Linguist.
Congratulations to instructor and alumni Sarah Yercich for her acceptance to the Criminology Doctoral program at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, Canada!  She has received full funding and will begin her studies at SFU in Fall 2012.

2012-2013 award and scholarship recipients
Wesley Brown Jr. Scholarship – Alyssa Bute and David Taylor 
James L. Keeton Scholarship – Brianna Noller
James Michael Lewis Scholarship – Lauren Jones and Taylor Lane
Native American Criminal Justice Scholarship – Tiffany Manygoats 
David Gonzales Scholarship – Alfred Chavez
CCJ Outstanding Senior – Colin Burke
CCJ Outstanding Student – Lauren Jones 
CCJ Outstanding Graduate Assistant – Doris Schartmueller
CCJ Alumni Award – Alan Saquella
Community Partner Award – Coconino County Public Defender’s Office
2011-2012 award and scholarship recipients
Native American Criminal Justice Scholarship - Deidra Yazzie
David Gonzales Scholarship - Analyce Gonzalez
James Michael Lewis Scholarship - Taylor Lane
James L. Keeton Memorial Scholarship - Casey Horrigan
Wesley Brown Jr. Scholarship - Brittany Ridge
Alumni Award - Victor Liebe
Outstanding Graduate Students - Samantha Brown and Nancy Lubick
Outstanding Senior - Dru Chitwood
Community Partner - Coconino County Attorney's Office
Investigating Difference Writing Competition - Tricia Hall (Fall 2011) and Allison Rains (Spring 2012)