Western Undergraduate Exchange

With the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) Program, students who meet the university’s admission criteria and live in one of 14 Western states, or the Commonwealth of the North Marianas Islands (U.S. Territory) can receive a tuition rate of 1.5 times the cost of in-state tuition—significantly less than out-of-state tuition.

WUE Map 

View the listing of WUE states and territories
  • Alaska
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wyoming

U.S. Pacific territories (beginning January 2013):

  • Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands

*Please note that Northern Arizona University received updated information from WICHE stating that other territories (Guam, America Samoa) and Freely Associated States (Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Palau) are not yet part of the WICHE program. 

Eligible WUE programs  

With the exception of three programs, all undergraduate degree programs, including undeclared majors, are open to WUE. Those exceptions are:

  • Nursing
  • Dental Hygiene
  • Athletic Training (no longer accepting new students after Summer 2013)

For more information, check out: