Sustainability Leadership Awards

NAU Sustainability Leadership Awards

The purpose of the campus sustainability awards is to recognize those who have enhanced the culture of sustainability on the NAU campus and surrounding community. For the Environmental Caucus, sustainability means increasing the health of our community and our planet through an understanding of, and actions to enhance, the stability, resilience, and diversity of our intertwined natural, social, economic, and cultural systems. A sustainability award nominee should recognize these links and undertake significant actions resulting in positive impacts to the sustainability of our local community. These actions could have an impact over a short period of time or occur over an extended period.
click here to nominate

Nomination Categories: 

Nomination Deadline: March 3rd, 2017

When/Where: The awarding ceremony will be held on Thursday, April 13th, 2017 at the Native American Cultural Center beginning at 5pm. Refreshments will be provided.

Who can apply? Nominees do not have to be active members of the Environmental Caucus. Nominees must be members of NAU or the local community. 

How do I nominate? Use the button above "Click Here to Nominate" and fill out the online form OR you may upload a letter of nomination and a letter of support. You are NOT required to fill out the form and upload a letter of nomination, just choose one or the other. 

Letters of nomination: If you choose to submit a letter of nomination, they should be submitted through the online form and include a statement describing the nominee’s role and activities, and the impact of their activities on the sustainability of our community.



We would like to give a special thanks to Suzanne Botello, who annually designs and creates customized awards using recycled materials only! You have been a great help and your creativity has put many smiles on the winners' faces. Thank you for putting so much work and inspiration into your pieces, making them very special for anyone who receives them!

See previous award winners at our Green NAU Blog, or click to see winners from 2015 and 2016.