Committed to Native American Academic Success

If you are a prospective or enrolled Native American student in the College of Health and Human Services, we have a variety of resources to help you during your academic journey. As part of the College’s Native Journey to Academic Success (NJAcS) program, you’ll benefit from faculty mentoring, cultural support, and financial assistance for your education.

History of the program

The NJAcS program is supported by a grant from the John and Sophie Ottens Foundation. The Ottens Foundation has supported the health and well-being of Native Americans, including educational programs and initiatives for Native American students for the past eighteen years.

Program goals

  1. Attract Native American students to CHHS health professions programs by encouraging Native American alumni and current students to visit middle and high schools.
  2. Retain Native American students enrolled in CHHS programs by creating an environment that supports the cultural, social, and academic needs of Native American students.
  3. Provide cultural awareness training for NAU faculty, staff, and students.

What we do for you

Recruitment 

  • Dream Catcher Middle School mentoring 
  • Dream Catcher Middle School career shadowing 

Academic support

  • Faculty mentoring
  • Peer mentoring
  • Peer tutoring
  • Study group

Cultural activities

  • Talking circle
  • Elder storytelling
  • Cultural presentations

Vouchers for Financial Assistance

Contact us: Faculty Academy

To learn more about the NJACS program, contact a member of our Faculty Academy.

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Mary Towle-Harmon
928-523-2806
Mary.Harmon@nau.edu 

Dental Hygiene

Ellen Grabarek
928-523-6709
Ellen.Grabarek@nau.edu  

Maxine Janis
928-523-5727
Maxine.Janis@nau.edu 

Health Sciences

Cruz Begay
928-523-6344
Cruz.Begay@nau.edu 

Betty Brown
928-523-7639
Betty.Brown@nau.edu 

Priscilla Sanderson
928-523-6741
Priscilla.Sanderson@nau.edu 

Physical Therapy & Athletic Training

Lorie Kroneberger
928-523-7433
Lorie.Kroneberger@nau.edu  

Nursing

Vicki Black-Bishop
928-523-8774
Vicki.Black-Bishop@nau.edu 

Regina Eddie
928-523-5437
Regina.Eddie@nau.edu