Seminars

All seminars are at 4 pm in the Physical Sciences building (#19), room 103, unless otherwise noted.

Upcoming seminars

Long-term ecosystem response to environmental change: using paleoecological data to inform ecological theory and models
Yao Liu
Tuesday, November 18

Ecohydrolic Flux Partitioning Across Scales: Moving From The Leaf To The Globe
Stephen Good, Univesity of Utah
Tuesday, November 25


 

Schedule will be updated as more speakers become available.

 

Past Seminars

Living the Volcano: A first year study abroad experience to Santorini, Greece
Lisa Skinner
Tuesday, November 4

Conservation from species to communities: how interactions mediate the effects of diversity on ecosystem function
Clare Aslan
Tuesday, October 28

Steady incision of Grand Canyon at the million year timeframe: A case for mantle-driven differential uplift
Ryan Crow
Tuesday, September 30

Geo-Engineering Amazon.com Corporate Headquarters: Building a City Within a City
Dave Cook
Tuesday, September 23

Cocaine, Cattle and Tropical Deforestation
Erik Nielsen
Tuesday, September 16

The Fluvial-Aeolian-Hillslope Continuum: Fine-scale Remote Sensing for Whole System Science in the Colorado River, Grand Canyon
Joel Sankey (USGS)
Tuesday, September 2

The Slow-but-Steady Deformation of the American West: New Constraints from GPS Geodesy
Corne Kreemer, Earthscope Speaker
Tuesday, April 1   

Confronting the Low-Angle Normal Fault Paradox
Nick Christie-Blick
Tuesday, March 25 

A Question of Scale: Using High-Resolution Lake-Type Stratigraphy and Geochronology to Elucidate the Climatic, Tectonic and Geomorphic Signatures in Eocene Strata of the North American Cordillera

Dr. Michael Smith
Wednesday, March 12

Vulnerability of Public Supply Wells
Dr. David Rudolph 
Tuesday, March 11

Middle Miocene Reorganization of Deformation, Erosion, and Deposition on the Northeastern Tibetan Plateau
Dr. Richard Lease
Monday, March 10

Evaluating the Relative Roles of Sediment Supply and Tectonics using Growth-strata Analysis, Sequence Stratigraphy, Forward Stratigraphic Modeling and Sediment Volume Calculations: An Example from the Cordilleran Foreland Basin, USA 
Dr. Jennifer Aschoff
Thursday, March 6

Summer 2014 Hydrology Internship with the AHS Flagstaff Chapter; Experiences of the 2013 Intern, and Opportunities for the 2014 Intern
Benjamin Serpa
Tuesday, March 4

Tropical climate change in the past, present, and future: Insights from ancient and modern water isotopes
Dr. Bronwen Konecky
Thursday, February 27

Ice and environment: Greenland glacier dynamics and control mechanisms
Dr. Twila Board
Wednesday, February 19

Climate dynamics in a warmer world: Lessons from the Last Interglacial period 
Dr. Nicholas McKay
Monday, February 17 

A bugs life: "Micro" challenges in predicting ecological effects of climate change
Kristen Potter
Tuesday February 4 

Growth and Water Supplies: City of Flagstaff’s Designation of Adequate Water Supply
Erin Young
Tuesday January 28 

Concurrent changes in climate, land cover, and population growth present major challenges to the management of natural resources worldwide
Paul Brooks
Tuesday January 21 

Response of the lower to upper crust to Eocene tectonic transition in the Pacific Northwest
Robert Miller
Tuesday, January 14

Integrated Conservation/Community Research in Namibia
Dr. Robin Naidoo
Tuesday, December 3

The Arizona Integrated Seismic Network
Jeri Young and Dave Brumbaugh
Tuesday, November 5

National Ground Water Association Darcy Lecturer; Managing Groundwater Beneath the Agricultural Landscape
Dave Rudolph
Tuesday, November 12

6700 Years of Natural Resource Management in the Mountainous Auvergne, France: the Value of Palaeocology in Assessing the Viability of Environmental and Land Use Strategies
Yannick Miras
Tuesday, October 22

A Colorado Microplate? Timing and Geodynamic Implications of Alkaline Lavas from the Northern Rio Grande Rift Near Yampa, Colorado
Mike Cosca
Tuesday, September 24

Monitoring Evaporite Karst Activity and Land Subsidence in the Holbrook Basin, Arizong, using Interferometric Synthetic Aperture Radar(InSAR)
Brian Conway and Joe Cook
Tuesday, October 1

Renewable Energy, Landscape Assessments, and Regional Mitigation on Public Land
Joe Viera
Tuesday, October 8

Read more

The Baja Microplate: Its rigidity and the modern earthquake cycle
Rocco Malservisi, University of South Florida
Thursday, October 18

Pleistocene climate variability in tropical West Africa on interannual to orbital timescales, inferred from the Lake Bosumtwi sediment record
Nick McKay, SESES
Tuesday, October 23

Detrital signatures of Cenozoic foreland basin evolution in Columbia
Joel Saylor, SESES
Thursday, October 25

Aerial imagery for mapping invasive species, Buffel grass in remote aboriginal communities of the Musgrave Ranges, Australia
Victoria Marshall, University of Adelaide, Australia
Tuesday, October 30

Sabbatical research and networking in the Czech Republic, Sweden, Germany, The Netherlands, Austria, France, Tanzania, and Bangladesh
Nancy Johnson, SESES
Tuesday, November 6

Testing the role of rift obliquity in the formation of the Gulf of California
Scott Bennett, University of California at Davis
Tuesday, November 13

Approaching the long-term shaping of European Cultural Landscapes through the use of multi-proxy paleoenvironmental analyses
Ana Ejarque, SESES
Tuesday November 27

Climate and provenance evolution history of the Chinese Loess Plateau during the past 8 million years
Dr. Junsheng Nie, Lanzhou University
Thursday, November 29

Continental-scale hockey sticks, Kiwi clams, carbon connections and other sabbatical activities
Darrell Kaufman
Tuesday Jan 22

Jahns lecture: The mountains are falling apart: A spectrum of mass failures from landslides through deep-seated gravitational spreading (sackung), to “unfolding” of folds
James McCalpin
Tuesday, January 29

A model-based evaluation of coupled soil carbon and water cycles in structurally heterogeneous savanna ecosystems
Frances O'Donnell
Thursday, January 31

From desert park to "war zone": shifting conservation landscapes on the US - Mexico border
Jessica Piekielek
Thursday, February 7

Oligo-Miocene extension at ground-zero in the India-Asia collision: Response to rollback of subducting Indian plate continental lithosphere
Peter DeCelles
Tuesday, February 12 

Research activities at NAU's Institute for Sustainable Energy Solutions
Tom Acker
Tuesday, February 19

Using Reconnaissance Detrital and Igneous Zircon Dating to Unravel the Tectonics of Tibetan Terranes
Jerome Guynn
Tuesday, February 26

Holocene climate variability; evidence from the Eastern North Atlantic
Hans Petter Sejrup
Tuesday, March 5

The Sequence Stratigraphic and Paleoclimatic Controls on Microbial Carbonates of the Carbonate-evaporite Dominated Late Carboniferous (Moscovian) Paradox Basin, Southeastern Utah
Gary Gianniny
Thursday, March 14

Opportunities with Arizona Hydrological Society
Mariah Giardina
Tuesday, March 26

Oil Sands: Canadian Experience, Global Implications
Michael Collier
Tuesday, April 2